• Fighting Ruben Wolfe

  • By: Markus Zusak
  • Narrated by: Stig Wemyss
  • Length: 3 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 11-21-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.5 (11 ratings)

Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One day we will fight again, but for now we are wolves in a cage, waiting to be let out....
The Wolfe family has fallen on hard times. Mr. Wolfe has had an accident at work and has been unemployed for months. Mum cleans longer and harder, and works a night shift at the hospital. Sarah gets drunk now and then. Older brother Steve wants to leave home, to forget about his lunatic family. When Cameron and Ruben find they can earn fifty dollars a win with an organized boxing racket, they take the chance. Ruben has talent for boxing and Cameron has heart at least. They need the money, but it’s really about self-respect. Boxing will change forever the way they see themselves.
Author Markus Zusak pens a surprisingly complex and touching story that will linger long with readers. The language is hard-hitting, witty, and authentic - as are the emotions and action. Fighting Ruben Wolfe is not about boxing. It's about respect, stubborn pride, and real brotherly love. Fans of The Book Thief won't want to miss listening to the novels that launched Markus Zusak's stellar career.
©2002 Markus Zusak (P)2011 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By M. Zullo on 09-04-17


Absolutely superb! No need to say more, just loved it. Thank goodness I've read too many clunkers lately!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By CheyenneQBU on 05-29-14

it's not the story its the writing

What did you love best about Fighting Ruben Wolfe?

Zusak's characters are credible, real, unadorned people.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Fighting Ruben Wolfe?

weaving throughout the story are wonderful phrases, his use of words is beautiful

What does Stig Wemyss bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

oh yes

Any additional comments?

Love all of Zusak's books, just listened to all of them in the last couple of weeks

Read More Hide me

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc