Regular price: $25.09

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever. Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.
Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who feels awake only when she's with Sebby.
Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.
Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.
As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.
©2015 Kate Scelsa (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By FanB14 on 09-18-15

Angsty Good

Book told from three points of view. Mira, third person narrator, suffers from depression and missed 9 months her last school year. Just transferred to St. F private school. She meets Jeremy, first person narrative, who has trouble fitting in thanks to prejudices and bullying. Sebby, second person past tense voice, seemingly carefree inserts humor and drama into most situations. Clever use of voice and a welcome change from the first person narrative most YA authors seem to employ.

The characters are full of angst and dread for the paths they walk, yet find solace in the company of each other. This isn't a sweet, feel good, easy read. It's more realistic and combats our views on homosexuality; the impact of being fat; living up to unrealistic expectations of parents; and finding true friendship and purpose. Written in the same vein as Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower." Enjoyed this immensely.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful


By Kristen Anderson on 11-01-17

The story is good, not great.

Imani Parks is a sub-par narrator, so listening to her parts was a little difficult. The development of the characters seemed to be lacking and the overall story was derivative.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc