Fans of the Impossible Life

  • by Kate Scelsa
  • Narrated by Michael Curran-Dorsano, Imani Parks, MacLeod Andrews
  • 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever. Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.
Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who feels awake only when she's with Sebby.
Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.
Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.
As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Angsty Good

Book told from three points of view. Mira, third person narrator, suffers from depression and missed 9 months her last school year. Just transferred to St. F private school. She meets Jeremy, first person narrative, who has trouble fitting in thanks to prejudices and bullying. Sebby, second person past tense voice, seemingly carefree inserts humor and drama into most situations. Clever use of voice and a welcome change from the first person narrative most YA authors seem to employ.

The characters are full of angst and dread for the paths they walk, yet find solace in the company of each other. This isn't a sweet, feel good, easy read. It's more realistic and combats our views on homosexuality; the impact of being fat; living up to unrealistic expectations of parents; and finding true friendship and purpose. Written in the same vein as Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower." Enjoyed this immensely.
Read full review

- FanB14 "Short, Simple, No Spoilers"

Intense

This story is hard on many levels, but is important to hear. I will look for other books by this author.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-08-2015
  • Publisher: HarperAudio