• by Todd Strasser
  • Narrated by Jeff Cummings
  • 4 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It’s the summer of 1962, and Scott and his friends spend their days playing baseball and thinking about girls. But the threat of nuclear war looms over everything they do, and they are haunted by the idea that they could all be dead tomorrow.
Even though the possibility of war is all anyone talks about, Scott’s dad is the only one in the neighborhood who actually prepares for the worst, building a bomb shelter to protect his family and stocking it with enough supplies to keep them alive for two critical weeks. The neighbors scoff, but then, in the middle of the night in late October, the unthinkable happens. Suddenly 10 people are crammed into a shelter built for four. Ten people eating the food meant for four, breathing the air meant for four. Ten people struggling to survive - but what will await them when they eventually emerge?
Internationally best-selling author Todd Strasser has written his most impressive and personal novel to date, painstakingly yet sensitively exploring the terrifying what-ifs of one of the most explosive moments in history.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Hes have had his head home health has had his head home health has had.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Memories - great memories

What made the experience of listening to Fallout the most enjoyable?

brought back so many memories of those days

What was one of the most memorable moments of Fallout?

Too many for just one - I had so many similar experiences growing up as the author - were we neighbors

Have you listened to any of Jeff Cummings’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

not or not yet

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I could easily have listened to it in one sitting

Any additional comments?

Highly recommended - especially to anyone born in the late 50's

Read full review

- Gary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2013
  • Publisher: Candlewick on Brilliance Audio