Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From debut author Mary H. K. Choi comes a compulsively listenable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory - perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's 79 miles and a zillion light-years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.
Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director, but right this second the 17 bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.
When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch - via text - and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
©2018 Mary H. K. Choi (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"[Narrators] Osmanski and Roy provide excellent renditions of the characters' personalities... This audio will have the listener rooting for Penny and Sam to find their way together." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Doha on 04-23-18

Messy Book With Really Bad Narration

What a huge disappointment for a highly anticipated book for me :((
I was really ready to devour this book because the plot seemed so adorable .. but it was just a big mess and nothing really happened .. they were just whining the entire time and I couldn't get into their "deep" conversations because they sounded SO random to me.. the best character I liked was Jude and I wish if she had found some solace in the end but other than that I was really bored and I didn't like the story at all

The narration didn't help either .. the female was ok but the guy's narration made me sleep several times .. he is so monotone that I couldn't get who is talking
can't recommend this book at all

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Brendan Kennedy on 04-19-18

Finally YA that doesn’t make you cringe.

Mary H. K. Choi is a blessing, Emergency Contact hits all the right spots while offering an intimate account of self actualization. The intercutting of female and male perspectives gives the book a duality of narrative often missing in storytelling. The perhaps unintentionally wokest YA of the year, Choi’s new poetry constantly checks it’s position and is not fearful to talk about race, privilege and consent without coming off as staged or preachy. The story jumps as in real life between mother/daughter evolution, new friendships and first loves without the cheese. The regularly flippant references in the composition should keep readers of all ages googling the supreme drips of knowledge similarly to the pop culture embedded in the Gilmore Girls. As in the work of Amy Sherman-Palladino if you can keep up, you are in for a good ride and window into a brilliant mind. For fans of John Green, Carson McCullers, Stephen Chbosky, Haruki Murakami and Roxane Gay.

Read More Hide me

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews