Dumplin'

  • by Julie Murphy
  • Narrated by Eileen Stevens
  • 9 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.
Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.
Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wanted to Like it, but

it was childishly written and saccharin. The message of being confident regardless of your appearance is a needed and positive one, but the story is conflicted at several points, sending mixed, unrealistic signals. There's no development between the main love interests and you're left scratching your head as to why these people got together; seemed forced. The narrator plucks the nerves and this book is just an over-hyped mess. Julie Murphy seems like a lovely person, but that's not reason enough to make the purchase. Wow, can social media pump up the volume on an otherwise tiresome book.
Read full review

- FanB14

Good story, bad performance

I actually really enjoyed the story, but the performance of this audiobook drove me insane. I wish I would have just bought the actual book. I get that it's set in Texas and different voices help differentiate characters, but all the guys sounded alike, in this weird breathy voice. The intonations and pauses were off and during the more serious dramatic parts, the performer got all breathy, almost making every character sound like a porn star at one point or another. Just buy the book and read it.
Read full review

- Erin Allen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-15-2015
  • Publisher: HarperAudio