Deception : Courier's Daughter

  • by C. J. Redwine
  • Narrated by Renée Chambliss
  • Series: Courier's Daughter
  • 13 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With their city-state ravaged, their lives threatened by rival armies, and a band of survivors looking to them for leadership, Rachel and Logan must work to forge a new future for them all. Abandoning the ruins of their home to take their chances in the Wasteland, the group soon realizes their problems have only begun: an unknown killer - possibly inside their ranks - has begun picking off the survivors one by one. And Rachel and Logan must question whether the price of freedom may be too great - and whether they can make it out of the Wasteland alive.


What the Critics Say

"[T]he passion building between the two protagonists is palpable." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Voices too similar.

I liked the book and the narration overall, but I felt there wasn't enough difference between the voices of Logan and Rachel and found myself confused as to who was speaking several times.
Read full review

- C. Weatherford


Would you try another book from C. J. Redwine and/or Renée Chambliss?

I would try another book from CJ but I would not listen to another book by Renee Chambliss.
If I read/listen to the last book, I think I will read it, I just can't listen to Renee.

What did you like best about this story?

It's a good read, but I thought book 1 was better.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

There are several spots where she is too monotone. As a female reading mostly male parts, she just has too much of a feminine, soft voice. Her voice doesn't even match what I envision Rachel to be. Her voice is terrible for the masculine voices.

Any additional comments?

I really don't like books that are written in 1st person present. I know there are a lot of authors that do this - I think it is a very distracting read.

Read full review

- bunie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-29-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio