Days of Magic, Nights of War : Abarat

  • by Clive Barker
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • Series: Abarat
  • 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Candy Quackenbush's adventures in the amazing world of the Abarat are getting more strange by the hour. Christopher Carrion, the Lord of Midnight, has sent his henchman to capture her. "Why?" she wonders. What would Carrion want with a girl from Minnesota? And why is Candy beginning to feel that the world of Abarat is familiar to her? Why can she speak words of magic she doesn't even remember learning?
There is a mystery here. And Carrion, along with his fiendish grandmother, Mater Motley, suspects that whatever Candy is, she could spoil their plans to take control of the Abarat.
Now Candy's companions must race against time to save her from the clutches of Carrion, and she must solve the mystery of her past before the forces of Night and Day clash and Absolute Midnight descends upon the islands.
A final war is about to begin. And Candy is going to need to make some choices that will change her life forever.


What the Critics Say

"Barker lovingly and graphically describes the wonders of a magical world, and his vivid scenes of near captures, deaths, and a climactic sea battle that ends in Chickentown will keep readers on the edge of their seats." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Imaginative but predictable

This sequel picks up where the first book, Abarat, left off. I would recommend reading the first book before this one. Candy Quackenbush continues to travel without much guidance or reason to many different islands. She meets many new and interesting characters and puts her life in jeopardy on several occasions. Meanwhile, she is slowly (and I mean slowly!) discovering what purpose she really has with the Abarat. You should know this is only book two of a four part series; however, the last two books have yet to be published. Like book one, it ends with much still to be resolved. I doubt I’ll read or listen to anymore of this series. It was interesting enough, but the predictability of this story became its undoing for me. I am a big Clive Barker fan, but this is not his best work.
Read full review

- karen

Great book BUT a section is out of order!

Any additional comments?

This is another great book by Barker as the follow up to the Abarat. Just note that this audio book seems to have a short part (or two) out of order! makes for disjoint listening. Lucky for me I have a hard copy of the book and was able to get the story straight. Maybe this can get fixed.

Read full review

- KM

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-31-2005
  • Publisher: HarperAudio