Regular price: $23.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D.J. can't help admitting, maybe he's right.
When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said.
Stuff like why her best friend, Amber, isn't so friendly anymore. Or why her little brother, Curtis, never opens his mouth. Why her mom has two jobs and a big secret. Why her college-football-star brothers won't even call home. Why her dad would go ballistic if she tried out for the high school football team herself. And why Brian is so, so out of her league. When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Welcome to the summer that 15-year-old D.J. Schwenk of Red Bend, Wisconsin, learns to talk, and ends up having an awful lot of stuff to say.
©2006 Catherine Gilbert Murdock; (P)2006 Random House, Inc. Listening Library, an imprint of the Random House Audio Publishing Group
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Joan Bauer and Louise Rennison will flock to this sweet confection of a first novel, as enjoyable as any treat from the real DQ." (School Library Journal)
"This humorous, romantic romp excels at revealing a situation seldom explored in YA novels." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By A. Donahue on 05-03-16

Young

If you could sum up Dairy Queen in three words, what would they be?

Good for younger readers (maybe 5th grade- middle school)

Would you recommend Dairy Queen to your friends? Why or why not?

would recommend for my young niece

What does Natalie Moore bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

great Wisconsin accent

Read More Hide me

By Randy Carbone on 04-06-15

Good book!

Yes, the book did reach what I was thinking.
The narrator was good.
3 star book if I can say.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc