Dairy Queen

  • by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
  • Narrated by Natalie Moore
  • 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D.J. can't help admitting, maybe he's right.
When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said.
Stuff like why her best friend, Amber, isn't so friendly anymore. Or why her little brother, Curtis, never opens his mouth. Why her mom has two jobs and a big secret. Why her college-football-star brothers won't even call home. Why her dad would go ballistic if she tried out for the high school football team herself. And why Brian is so, so out of her league. When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Welcome to the summer that 15-year-old D.J. Schwenk of Red Bend, Wisconsin, learns to talk, and ends up having an awful lot of stuff to say.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Joan Bauer and Louise Rennison will flock to this sweet confection of a first novel, as enjoyable as any treat from the real DQ." (School Library Journal)
"This humorous, romantic romp excels at revealing a situation seldom explored in YA novels." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Young

If you could sum up Dairy Queen in three words, what would they be?

Good for younger readers (maybe 5th grade- middle school)


Would you recommend Dairy Queen to your friends? Why or why not?

would recommend for my young niece


What does Natalie Moore bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

great Wisconsin accent


Read full review

- A. Donahue

Good book!

Yes, the book did reach what I was thinking.
The narrator was good.
3 star book if I can say.
Read full review

- Randy Carbone

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-18-2006
  • Publisher: Listening Library