Regular price: $15.48

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The start of an epic new series from bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of The 5th Wave and I Am Number Four. Earth is no longer ours. It is ruled by the Illyri, a beautiful, civilised yet ruthless alien species. But humankind has not given up the fight, and Paul Kerr is one of a new generation of young Resistance leaders waging war on the invaders.
Syl Hellais is the first of the Illyri to be born on Earth. Trapped inside the walls of her father's stronghold, hated by the humans, she longs to escape. But on her sixteenth birthday, Syl's life is about to change forever. She will become an outcast, an enemy of her people, for daring to save the life of one human: Paul Kerr.
Only together do they have a chance of saving each other, and the planet they both call home. For there is a greater darkness behind the Illyri conquest of Earth, and the real invasion has not yet even begun...
©2013 Bad Dog Books Ltd & Jennifer Ridyard (P)2014 Simon & Schuster, Inc
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Densely plotted and decidedly grown-up, this is YA fiction for readers who are bored of fluff and sparkles" (SFX)
'If you enjoy exciting reads, regardless of your age, you'll enjoy this one' The Bookbag
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Linda on 12-03-17

Wrong narrator

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I would not recommend this book to an adult reader because the narrator makes the story sound very juvenile. If it is pitched at teen readers this book ought to be in the children/teen section.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She just sounds very young. Although the protagonist is a teenaged girl a male narrator would have been much better.

Do you think Conquest needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Possibly.

Read More Hide me

By martin on 10-14-16

hmmm

Would you try another book written by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard or narrated by Nicola Barber?

MAYBE

What could John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Not my cup of tea....this is just my opinion but I cant finish it. For me its a book for teenage girls.

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Nicola Barber?

Nobody, Nicola has a lovely voice its probably ideal for target market?

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc