Burn Baby Burn

  • by Meg Medina
  • Narrated by Marisol Ramirez
  • 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl faces danger within her own home in Meg Medina's riveting coming-of-age novel.
Nora Lopez is 17 during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial killer named Son of Sam who shoots young women on the streets. Nora's family life isn't going so well either: her bullying brother, Hector, is growing more threatening by the day, her mother is helpless and falling behind on the rent, and her father calls only on holidays. All Nora wants is to turn 17 and be on her own. And while there is a cute new guy who started working with her at the deli, is dating even worth the risk when the killer likes picking off couples who stay out too late? Award-winning author Meg Medina transports us to a time when New York seemed balanced on a knife-edge, with tempers and temperatures running high, to share the story of a young woman who discovers that the greatest dangers are often closer than we like to admit - and the hardest to accept.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good book, good narrator

Loved the time period, subject, characters, writing, etc., and the performance was really great. I love when the narrator actually sounds like they're from the same area as the characters and can pronounce everything right (whether it's a real-world accent or a fantasy title's terminology).
Read full review

- norroway

An Ode to the 70s

A Blast from the past, this is the story of Norah's struggle with family challenges while at the same time graduating from high school and getting ready for college and independence. With the backdrop of the 70s in New York from Son of Sam serial killer, blackouts, and disco Norah negotiates being a teenager but having to make serious adult decisions when her family fails her.
Read full review

- The Teaching Factor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-08-2016
  • Publisher: Candlewick on Brilliance Audio