Beware That Girl

  • by Teresa Toten
  • Narrated by Jorjeana Marie
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep listeners guessing until the very last minute.
The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of - some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change that. She's book smart. She's street-smart. Oh, and she's also a masterful liar.
As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: Her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her "people" among the senior class "it" girls - specifically in the cosseted, megawealthy, yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had.
When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty's and students' lives - becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she's intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal - and can't afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?

More

What the Critics Say

"Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl." (Publishers Weekly)
"Has all the makings of a crossover hit. It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable." (Quill & Quire)
"A sharp narrative whose twists will demand an instant reread. Beware That Girl is a terrifying chess game, and Toten is the ultimate player." [National Reading Campaign (Canada)]

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

really enjoyed this book !!!

I loved it! Also I enjoyed the narrator Jorjenna Marie so much that Im reading another book that is narrated by her as well, it's really good too. It might be better than this one, but Im not finished yet.
Read full review

- carmen

Almost adult-YA read

I actually really liked this book, I saw a few reviews that peop had said negative things, but I think this book is like a mix between ya & adult fiction, and has a few instances that you wouldn't normally see in a YA. But it was narrated great, plenty of action & twists& turns to keep my attention. I was surprised by the end! But I like that! Mystery/thrillers are my fav to read. So I'd def recommend this book to my friends.
Read full review

- Rebecca Castro "parker"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-31-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library