Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep listeners guessing until the very last minute.
The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of - some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change that. She's book smart. She's street-smart. Oh, and she's also a masterful liar.
As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: Her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her "people" among the senior class "it" girls - specifically in the cosseted, megawealthy, yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had.
When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty's and students' lives - becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she's intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal - and can't afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts?
©2016 Teresa Toten (P)2016 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl." ( Publishers Weekly)
"Has all the makings of a crossover hit. It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable." ( Quill & Quire)
"A sharp narrative whose twists will demand an instant reread. Beware That Girl is a terrifying chess game, and Toten is the ultimate player." [National Reading Campaign (Canada)]
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Rebecca Castro on 06-26-16

Almost adult-YA read

I actually really liked this book, I saw a few reviews that peop had said negative things, but I think this book is like a mix between ya & adult fiction, and has a few instances that you wouldn't normally see in a YA. But it was narrated great, plenty of action & twists& turns to keep my attention. I was surprised by the end! But I like that! Mystery/thrillers are my fav to read. So I'd def recommend this book to my friends.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Dawn on 01-08-17

Possibly one of the best in my library

This was a really great book! Kept me on the edge of my seat and couldn't stop listening until the end

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc