Regular price: $35.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts - lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.
Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.
When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now, Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves - and his own life.
©2017 Tochi Onyebuchi (P)2017 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By KPB on 03-17-18

So. Many. Questions.

Let me start by saying I ALWAYS love Prentice Onayemi’s narration. He is brilliant, and I love even more that he read this book with the accent of the narrator. His narration is probably what kept me listening. The premise sounded amazing, I loved the Nigerian influences, and the world built by Onyebuchi was genuinely interesting; however, the world and characters did not feel fleshed out quite enough and left me with many questions that went unexplained. Why don’t Taj’s spots ever fade? How did the family in power get there in the first place? Why were there tunnels under the city? Could the aki have just collectively refused to eat sin? Why did the royal family have to pretend to arrest Taj to get their plan to work? Do different sin beasts in fact represent different sins or are they random? Etc etc etc.

Quite frankly, his lust for the princess irritated me to no end. If I could have skipped those parts, the book may have been better. She was completely unlikeable and his love for her made absolutely no sense. The plot twists, though surprising, were again, nonsensical to me.

It’s worth a first listen, but I don’t know if I’ll be invested in it enough to read the second book, which makes me very sad.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 01-12-18

Salaam

I’m a man of few words. This book is Dope! Take the journey & enjoy the ride! Nuff said!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews