Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts - lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.
Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.
When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now, Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves - and his own life.
©2017 Tochi Onyebuchi (P)2017 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Bree Salyer on 11-29-17

The narration lost me

I really wanted to like this book. The cover is beautifully designed, which caught my eye in the first place. And the premise sounded truly interesting. However, the narrator, whose accent I'm sure was designed to add authenticity to the story, only made it much more difficult for me to follow. I struggled not only with what the narrator was saying but his pacing kept throwing me off as well. Maybe I'm one of few who found it difficult to understand and it's quite possible that had I read it instead of listened, my opinion would be very different. But in this case, I just got too lost in the narration and couldn't finish the book. I will be returning this one.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By P. Miller on 12-04-17

felt incomplete

I enjoyed this book, but felt that there were some plot holes, unexplained key elements, and strange character development choices.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews