Beast

  • by Brie Spangler
  • Narrated by Andrew Eiden
  • 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average 15-year-old, so naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg - and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy - until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been - an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Unexpectedly very nice read

This book was honestly a good read. It was an impulse buy. I have a horrible habit of throwing things in my wish list and not being able to decide which deserves a credit. I let this title sit in my wish list for ages, and even when I bought it, It was a forceful "thing." I just made myself waste a credit on something, so I wouldn't overthink it. I'm so glad I did. It was a lovely read, and it kept me interested. I usually put audiobooks on to help me fall asleep, but this one kept me awake. So, in the same way I forced myself to buy this book, I had to force myself to put it down. The narrator did an excellent job. He captured the characters well. Go buy it! Be like Shia labeouf and "JUST DO IT!"
Read full review

- whoa!

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.