Anne of Green Gables : Anne of Green Gables

  • by L. M. Montgomery, Margaret Atwood - foreword
  • Narrated by Kate Burton
  • Series: Anne of Green Gables
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Listen to the timeless classic about the beloved Anne Shirley, a red-haired orphan with a fiery spirit, before the new NETFLIX series premieres. This audiobook includes a foreword by Margaret Atwood, author of The Handmaid's Tale, celebrating the 100th anniversary of this children's favorite!
Eleven-year-old Anne Shirley has never known a real home. Since her parents' deaths, she's bounced around to foster homes and orphanages. When she is sent by mistake to live with Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert at the snug white farmhouse called Green Gables, she wants to stay forever. But Anne is not the sturdy boy Matthew and Marilla were expecting.
She's a mischievous, talkative redheaded girl with a fierce temper, who tumbles into one scrape after another. Anne is not like anybody else, the Cuthberts agree; she is special, a girl with an enormous imagination. All she's ever wanted is to belong somewhere. And the longer she stays at Green Gables, the harder it is for anyone to imagine life without her.
"[Anne is] the dearest and most lovable child in fiction since the immortal Alice."—Mark Twain


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Must buy for any Anne of Green Gables fan

The narrator did an excellent job of capturing the personalities of the characters in this novel. Audio was clear and the voice fluctuation was anything but short of superb. You are easily transported to Avonlea and can visualize all of Anne’s friends and escapades. The chapters ran smoothly from one to another without the annoying pauses that can distraught from the story line. I wish this narrator did all of the Anne Series.
Read full review

- Honey


I don't know how I missed this when I was a kid! Delightful! And BEAUTIFULLY read by someone who is obviously a lifelong fan of Anne!
Read full review

- Ann Cartee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-16-2008
  • Publisher: Listening Library