American Street

  • by Ibi Zoboi
  • Narrated by Robin Miles
  • 8 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything, Bone Gap, and All American Boys.
In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie - a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by US immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins - Chantal, Donna, and Princess - the grittiness of Detroit's West Side, a new school, and a surprising romance all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

More

What the Critics Say

"Narrator Robin Miles glides silkily through Haitian Creole, Detroit street talk, and standard American English, infusing the dialogue with authentic-sounding accents and age-appropriate sass and bravado.... Miles taps into each character's unique struggle to balance survival with tough choices, infusing her near-flawless performance with nuanced drama. Listeners will long remember Fabiola's transformative journey." (AudioFile)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

American Street: Great story

American Street was beautifully and majestically written. I was hooked from the first chapter, attached to every character and desiring to read the next word! The 4 Bs, the love, the struggle, the bravery and the magic of this story is mesmerizing. I hope Zoboi writes another book and this is big screen material.
Read full review

- M. Mc

interesting plot twists

I wasn't expecting such interesting plot twists. The narration however left much to be desired. The stilted speech of the Americans was annoying and phony.
Read full review

- Makenzie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-14-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio