Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Elle Fanning!
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
©2014 Jennifer Niven (P)2014 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably." (Kirkus Reviews)
"In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny...The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities - and limits - of love in the face of mental illness." (Publishers Weekly)
"The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics... Finch in particular will linger in readers’ minds long after the last page is turned." (School Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By FanB14 on 06-09-15

Best YA Quirky Love Story of 2015

Alternating points of view tell the story of Finch, an unconventional almost eccentric, yet cool HS senior and Violet. Having lost her sister less than a year ago in a car crash, Violet shrinks away from standing out until she finds herself meeting Finch in a most unusual place only to lead to more trips via a history project for school.

This story is sweet, clever, odd, funny, snarky, sad and ultimately endearing. Don't ruin it by listening to negative reviews. If you like other smart YA titles, you should read or listen to this one. It's fabulous.

Read More Hide me

35 of 35 people found this review helpful


By Emma on 04-21-15

Rocked me to my core

Such an important book. It felt way more like a book for adults about teens. Reflections and memories unbound. It rang so true that can see why it's compared to Eleanor and Park. I miss the characters now that I've finished listening.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Lou on 01-17-15

Stunning performance, but....

The performance of this is absolutely stunning, and I like the concept of the story. I just find myself struggling to connect with the ralationship between Violet and Finch. I feel a connection to Finch and his outcast status and dreamy personality, I think most of us would. I also feel a connection to Violet as the person who like all of us, is lying for social acceptance. But that's almost my problem with the whole thing. I don't know what Finch sees in her, when she is so outwardly similar to Amanda, and with all her bitching and pushing him away, I can't understand how she manages to see into him or he into her. So although I like both of them, and I enjoyed their separate narratives, I found the whole thing a bit disjointed.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By D'Angeli Giulia on 11-30-17

Important issues discussed but bland story

This was my first purchase on audible and hopefully next one will be more my style.
I appreciated that the story shines a light on a very critical issue that is plaguing humanity and it’s never discussed enough. However I found the story a bit bland, immature and extremely simple.
Probably meant for a younger audience.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Lauren on 06-21-16

lovely

Lovely.
For years and years my nan pronounced lovely as "love-eh-lee" so my mum knew that it was spelt as lovely not lovley. My mum has done the same for us. Now, lovely is tradition in our family.
This book had me crying, yelling, laughing, blubbering and definitely tugged at the old heart strings. This book is lovely.
Thank you for acknowledging suicide not as something that people do out of stupidity, which i hear a little too embarrassingly often.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Anonymous User on 11-29-17

Incredible!

Loved it? Yes! Struggled to finish it? More like struggled to stop listening.
I can not praise this book enough, it was so overwhelmingly beautiful! I was hoping for a happy ending, and although it was very sad, I will be reading this again and again. I have recommended to so many people already, and they seem to love it also. This is easily one of my favorite books in my top 5.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews