All the Bright Places

  • by Jennifer Niven
  • Narrated by Kirby Heyborne, Ariadne Meyers
  • 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Elle Fanning!
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


What the Critics Say

"Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably." (Kirkus Reviews)
"In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny...The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities - and limits - of love in the face of mental illness." (Publishers Weekly)
"The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics... Finch in particular will linger in readers’ minds long after the last page is turned." (School Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Best YA Quirky Love Story of 2015

Alternating points of view tell the story of Finch, an unconventional almost eccentric, yet cool HS senior and Violet. Having lost her sister less than a year ago in a car crash, Violet shrinks away from standing out until she finds herself meeting Finch in a most unusual place only to lead to more trips via a history project for school.

This story is sweet, clever, odd, funny, snarky, sad and ultimately endearing. Don't ruin it by listening to negative reviews. If you like other smart YA titles, you should read or listen to this one. It's fabulous.
Read full review

- FanB14 "Short, Simple, No Spoilers"

Rocked me to my core

Such an important book. It felt way more like a book for adults about teens. Reflections and memories unbound. It rang so true that can see why it's compared to Eleanor and Park. I miss the characters now that I've finished listening.
Read full review

- Emma

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-06-2015
  • Publisher: Listening Library