All These Things I've Done : Birthright

  • by Gabrielle Zevin
  • Narrated by Ilyana Kadushin
  • Series: Birthright
  • 10 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the 16-year-old daughter of the city's most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.'s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is, until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she's to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight - at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ridiculous Premise... but enjoyed it nonetheless

I actually purchased this book because I enjoy Ilyana Kadushin's narrations, and she didn't disappoint. She has a voice that is very easy to listen to and she brings you into the story flawlessly. I'd suggest purchasing anything she narrates.

Despite the fact that chocolate is a banned substance but beer is not...the characters are well rounded, the story is intriguing, it left me wanting more and I was happy to discover that it's a series. It's a very creative look at future of our world and it takes familiar things and twists them in a surprising way.
Read full review

- AudiobookWorm

much better than expected

What sounded like an amusing coming-of-age story set in the future turns out to be a moving survivalist story about the unresolved issues of real life as a stressed high-school family-supporting junior in a Detroit-like Manhattan at the end of this century. As a survivor of similar conditions in South Chicago in the middle of the previous century, I hear reality.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-06-2011
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio