Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy : Generations

  • by Scott Sigler
  • Narrated by Emma Galvin
  • Series: Generations
  • 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.
A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief - she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust but no people and no answers.
She knows only one thing about herself - her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin. She finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they're to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.
Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there's a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I will definitely be reading more of Sigler

First off, Emma Galvin does a wonderful job with the audiobook narration and I may have to grab the Divergent series for just that reason.

So, here we go. Alive begins with a girl who awakens to find herself locked inside of a coffin. No idea who she is, where she is or why she is in this predicament. She struggles to break free, and when she finally does, she realizes that she is not alone. Among her are several other closed coffins, all coated in dust…and bone. A noise startles her and she realizes that some of these coffins contain other people; kids her own age and who just so happen to have the same birthday as her: today. But why is that tid-bit of information the only thing they can remember?

After freeing a few other “survivors”, she comes to realize that names are engraved on each and every coffin. She looks to hers: M. Savage. Since she was the first to awaken and help free the others, she ends up being in charge. They must leave this room. They must find food, water…an adult. But what awaits them outside of this room, nothing could have prepared them: a hallway of bones, dust, and flesh but no people. At least, none that are still living…

M. is determined to lead, though she is not the biggest and baddest of the survivors. For some strange reason, the others follow her and fight for survival. What is at the end of this hallway? Will I find my parents? Food? Water? Will I find out why I was in that coffin? Will I find out just who I am?

There are a lot of people who compare this book to ‘The Maze Runner’, especially the beginning scenario. But, to be honest, even if there are some comparisons that can be made, Alive stands on its own. And don’t forget that. The action, though there is little, is enough to keep the blood pumping. The story itself is a good one as the runt of the group becomes the leader, though she has no confidence at all.

The only issues I had with the book were: A. It could’ve been a little bit shorter. There are a lot of scenes where the survivors are just walking around and M. has to describe, in detail, every single thing that is seen/head/touched/etc. B. I didn’t particularly love the Twilight-esque ‘Team Jacob vs Team Edward’ scenario that was going on with her “love” interests. I felt as if there was too much back and forth and it detracted from the story a bit.

Overall, I will be continuing this series, especially for the narration. On top of that, I will definitely be reading more of Sigler’s books because the dude can write.

Audiobook purchased for review by the ABR.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]
Read full review

- AudioBook Reviewer "All of my reviews are on my blog audiobookreviewer dot com"

A claustrophobic roller coaster ride.

What did you love best about Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy?

The similarities to 'Lord of the Flies" by William Golding while giving things urgency as the novel progresses.


Who was your favorite character and why?

The protagonist because of her many layers; most of which she discovers throughout the book.


Which character – as performed by Emma Galvin – was your favorite?

All the characters were well done.


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

After I finished the book, I was excited for the next one and contemplative; it is a good, mixed feeling.


Any additional comments?

If you are looking for a complex story that has mysteries within mysteries to be solved and a well-rounded cast of characters including a strong (yet vulnerable) female protagonist, this book is definitely for you. While the slow burn approach and the first person, present tense narrative may irk some listeners, the payoffs and the overall journey getting to those rewards make it all worthwhile. This being the first book in a trilogy, there is a true sense of discovery as the scope of things expands and the stakes are raised. Loose ends are tied up to a degree by the novel's conclusion but the dust is far from settled. It is a claustrophobic roller coaster ride with many jolts, bumps, and twists along the way.

Read full review

- Allen "Allen Sale"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-14-2015
  • Publisher: Empty Set Entertainment