Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy : Generations

  • by Scott Sigler
  • Narrated by Emma Galvin
  • Series: Generations
  • 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.
A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief - she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust but no people and no answers.
She knows only one thing about herself - her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin. She finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they're to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.
Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there's a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not up to Sigler standards

I have been a long time listener of Scott's. This book at times left me bored. While the premise of the story was good it only moved along slowly. I kept waiting for the classic twist and when it finally got here it was....ok. He has done better. If I had the printed version of this book and not the audiobook I would have skipped entire chapters.
Read full review

- Wesley C. Anderson

A claustrophobic roller coaster ride.

What did you love best about Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy?

The similarities to 'Lord of the Flies" by William Golding while giving things urgency as the novel progresses.


Who was your favorite character and why?

The protagonist because of her many layers; most of which she discovers throughout the book.


Which character – as performed by Emma Galvin – was your favorite?

All the characters were well done.


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

After I finished the book, I was excited for the next one and contemplative; it is a good, mixed feeling.


Any additional comments?

If you are looking for a complex story that has mysteries within mysteries to be solved and a well-rounded cast of characters including a strong (yet vulnerable) female protagonist, this book is definitely for you. While the slow burn approach and the first person, present tense narrative may irk some listeners, the payoffs and the overall journey getting to those rewards make it all worthwhile. This being the first book in a trilogy, there is a true sense of discovery as the scope of things expands and the stakes are raised. Loose ends are tied up to a degree by the novel's conclusion but the dust is far from settled. It is a claustrophobic roller coaster ride with many jolts, bumps, and twists along the way.

Read full review

- Allen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-14-2015
  • Publisher: Empty Set Entertainment