A Study in Charlotte : Charlotte Holmes

  • by Brittany Cavallaro
  • Narrated by Graham Halstead, Julia Whelan
  • Series: Charlotte Holmes
  • 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.
Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends.
But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent concept

Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.


What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.


What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.


Any additional comments?

The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

Read full review

- Phoenix

Very, very good. interesting plot.

Eh, James is a bit sappy, romanticizing everything, especially Charlotte, but the story is 10/10. Very interesting.
Read full review

- delao13

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-01-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio