A Poison Dark and Drowning : Kingdom on Fire

  • by Jessica Cluess
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: Kingdom on Fire
  • 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The magicians want her to lead.
The sorcerers want her to lie.
The demons want her blood.
Henrietta wants to save the one she loves.
But will his dark magic be her undoing?
In this seductive and explosive second book in the Kingdom on Fire series, Jessica Cluess delivers her signature mix of magic, passion, and teen warriors fighting for survival. For fans of Victoria Aveyard, Sarah J. Maas, and Kiersten White.
Henrietta doesn't need a prophecy to know that she's in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one.
Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook's system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own. So when Henrietta finds a clue to the Ancients' past that could turn the tide of the war, she persuades Blackwood, the mysterious Earl of Sorrow-Fell, to travel up the coast to seek out strange new weapons. And Magnus, the brave, reckless flirt who wants to win back her favor, is assigned to their mission. Together, they will face monsters, meet powerful new allies, and uncover the most devastating weapon of all: the truth.

More

What the Critics Say

"Devastatingly magical and monstrously romantic. I can't decide if this book stole my heart or ripped it out of my chest." (Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval)
"Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved it!

Loved the characters. Loved the plot. Loved the twists and turns. Loved the ending. Loved!
Read full review

- Annette Kazmerski

more magic - the story continues - very enjoyable

A very interesting story - a nice new creative take on magic. The narrator was good - did a great job with the characters. If you like Victorian England with magic, this is the story for you. My only negative is the series isn't complete so you have to wait for the books to be released.
Read full review

- mytwoboysinnewengland

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-19-2017
  • Publisher: Listening Library