Regular price: $19.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This is Jim Dale's incomparable telling of the beloved A Christmas Carol, a "little book," as Charles Dickens himself called it, which has been treasured by generations since December of 1843. Listeners of all ages will be enthralled as they meet for the first time, or are reunited with, that miser of all misers, Mr. Ebenezer Scrooge; his cheerful and long-suffering assistant, Bob Cratchit; Scrooge's mysterious visitors on a wintry Christmas Eve, the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present and Christmas Future; and the other characters in the timeless story which is sure to touch a chord in all of us. Let a master reader beguile you with this universal reminder of what the holiday season can and should mean in this unique production of Dickens' classic and ever-timely tale.
©1965, 1986 Bantam Books (P)2003 Random House, Inc., Listening Library, An Imprint Of The Random House Audio Publishing Group
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Audie Award Winner, Classics, 2005
"The versatile British actor’s performance of Scrooge as he discovers that his body is left abandoned on a denuded bedstead is as raw and real as when the classic tale was written in the closing weeks of 1843. Dale makes us believe in the Scrooge whose spark has been quenched and carries us along as we watch the various spirits blow the ashes into embers, and the embers into a merry blaze of timeless Christmas cheer." ( AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By R. Adams on 12-26-04

Jim Dale is a great narrator

Jim Dale (voice of the Harry Potter books) does a fantastic job with this Holiday classic. His voices for the various characters make this very entertaining to listen to.

Now,if we could only get Harry Potter books on Audible....

Read More Hide me

17 of 18 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Ray on 02-16-04

A Christmas Carol (Unabridged)

Jim Dale is amazing - the best reading of A Christmas Carol I have heard. Don't hesitate for a minute. I listened to this one three times in a row.

Read More Hide me

25 of 27 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc