Slaying the Badger

  • by Richard Moore
  • Narrated by Shaun Grindell
  • 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bernard Hinault is "Le Blaireau", the Badger. Tough as old boots, he is the old warrior of the French peloton, as revered as he is feared for his ferocious attacks. He has won five Tours de France, marking his name into the history books as a member of cycling's most exclusive club.
Yet as the 1986 Tour de France ascends into the mountains, a boyish and friendly young American named Greg LeMond threatens the Badger - and France's entire cycling heritage.
The stakes are high. Winning for Hinault means capping his long cycling career by becoming the first man to win the Tour six times. For LeMond, a win will bring America its first Tour de France victory. So why does their rivalry shock the world? LeMond and Hinault ride for the same team.
Asked by a reporter why he attacked his own teammate, the Badger replies, "Because I felt like it." and "If he doesn't buckle, that means he's a champion and deserves to win the race. I did it for his own good." LeMond becomes paranoid, taking other riders' feed bags in the feed zone and blaming crashes on sabotage. Through it all, with the help of his American teammate Andy Hampsten, LeMond becomes the first American to win the Tour de France.


What the Critics Say

"[Slaying the Badger is] a gripping narrative of this psychological and physical three-week war." (Wall Street Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Loved this book!

Hard to put this book down. Actually in my case turn off because it was an audio book lol. It was like a sports book and a drama rolled into one. If you're a fan of cycling, especially the Tour, I think you will really enjoy this book.
Read full review

- robert thomas

I Love this book!

I feel like i just had a new Grimms Fairy Tail read to me. Now that i listened to the book, i will sit down red it too.
Read full review

- Amazon customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-30-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio