The Maze of the Enchanter : Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith

  • by Clark Ashton Smith, Scott Connors (editor), Ron Hilger (editor)
  • Narrated by Gregory St. John, Bernard Setaro Clark, Chris Kayser, Daniel May
  • Series: Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith
  • 15 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This series presents Clark Ashton Smith's fiction chronologically, based on composition rather than publication. Editors Scott Connors and Ron Hilger have compared original manuscripts, various typescripts, published editions, and Smith's notes and letters in order to prepare a definitive set of texts. The Maze of the Enchanter includes, in chronological order, all of his stories from The Mandrakes (February, 1933) to The Flower-Women (May, 1935). This volume also features an introduction and extensive notes on each story.


Audible Editor Reviews

Clark Ashton Smith’s unique literary legacy in science fiction, fantasy, and horror is reimagined as multiple performers interpret classic stories, including "Genius Loci", "The Mandrakes", "The Flower-Women", "The Dweller in the Gulf", and the title story. This fourth of five volumes of collected works includes extensive notes and commentary, as well as edited and curated "preferred texts" of Smith’s work. The scholarship and writing itself demands renewed appreciation for this master of speculative fiction, the third member of the Weird Tales unholy horror trinity - the other two being H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard.