• What Matters Most

  • Living a More Considered Life
  • By: James Hollis Ph.D.
  • Narrated by: Jim Bond
  • Length: 7 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 12-26-08
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (96 ratings)

Regular price: $18.87

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Why are we here? What is the meaning of existence? What truly matters the most in life? To even begin to answer these questions, we must start by exploring our own internal ideas, values, and beliefs. Presenting the unique perspective of respected analyst and author James Hollis, Ph.D., What Matters Most helps listeners learn to appreciate (even be amazed by) events unfolding within, even as the external world creates constant struggles.
Taking a fresh look at the concept of happiness, Hollis uses a warm, accessible tone to encourage listeners to learn to tolerate ambiguity, embrace growth rather than security, respect the power of Eros, engage spiritual crises, and acknowledge the shadow of mortality.
Providing inspiring wisdom and personal reflections to address our deepest worries, What Matters Most yields far more than mere self-help clichés. Instead Hollis guides listeners in uncovering the heart of the matter, discovering what it means to truly live life to its fullest, most meaningful state - as fully engaged citizens of the world.
©2008 James Hollis, Ph.D. (P)2008 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By EC on 10-27-09

Leaves Other Self-Help Books In the Dust

Far and away the best introduction to the role of the psyche, ego and unconsious in our lives. Bold, challenging ideas about how to make the most of what life offers. Hollis is eloqent, poetic even, lucid and extremely well organized. Bond is a perfect narrator. My only complaint: the final chapter of the book is completely omitted from the supposedly unabridged audiobook. I discovered this because, having so enjoyed the audiobook , I purchased the hardback to keep on my shelf of cherished, "read-again-and-again" volumes.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jean Le Lupi on 11-16-09

James Hollis at his best

The man who help me find answers to my life's questions just wrote another masterpiece. Recommended for anyone past 40.

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc