New Great Themes of Scripture

  • by Richard Rohr
  • Narrated by Richard Rohr
  • 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Lecture

Publisher's Summary

Rohr reprises his best-selling talks on scripture in this powerful new series. He describes the Bible as a text in travail, containing not just conclusions, but a process that mirrors our own journey (three steps forward, two steps backward).
In the three steps forward, Scripture always reveals that we are related to something infinite and that ours is an enchanted and trustworthy universe. Rohr suggests that God is different than we thought and much better than we feared. In fact, God cannot be fully grasped by thought and must not be approached in servile fear. God is present in our midst and is calling forth a people and a consciousness that is capable of divine union. This invitation is revealed in a developmental way in both the Hebrew and Christian Scriptures. The resurrected Jesus finally reveals the full and wonder-filled nature of the heart of God. As a result, Rohr says, "We have nothing to be afraid of and much to be excited about!"


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Life changing journey!

Would you consider the audio edition of New Great Themes of Scripture to be better than the print version?

Yes it makes this message . . . Effortlessly available.

What did you like best about this story?

The author reading / presenting the material himself makes it all the more authentic!

Which scene was your favorite?

Every 'chapter' / talk forms a unique part of the overall theme. No specific favourite!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Every moment was memorable.

Any additional comments?


Read full review

- Charl

Renewing listening !

Where does New Great Themes of Scripture rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

The Best and needing to be heard over and over

Any additional comments?

It would be wonderful if these conversations could be 'translated' into book form

Read full review

- Kathy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2010
  • Publisher: St. Anthony Messenger Press