Making Friends with Your Mind

  • by Pema Chödrön
  • Narrated by Pema Chödrön
  • 4 hrs and 32 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

Have you ever found yourself thinking your way into a tangle of fret, frustration, or gloom? And then something small - a few kind words, the sun glancing through the clouds, a warm cup of tea - gave you a welcome pause from all your inner chatter? With Making Friends with Your Mind, that's what Pema Chödrön helps us to do, not by chance but with our full intention: to stop fighting with our thoughts and reopen ourselves to wonder as naturally as we breathe.
The Buddha saw that the human experience is full of drama: confusion and conviction, joy and sorrow, success and failure - and that our minds love to amplify all of it. "We decide somebody or something is a certain way," muses Pema Chödrön, "and then that judgment gets frozen and fixated, long after things change. And things always change, right?"
In these free-spirited sessions, Ani Pema helps you to bring awareness to those inflexible thoughts and sticking points. Through meditations, daily practices, and the kind of simple pointers that can change our lives, you'll learn that it is entirely possible to return to the flow and freedom of your experiences - and to find your way each day closer to a place of unconditional friendliness with yourself and with those in need.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is one of the most profound and helpful teachings I have ever heard. I'm listening to it now for the 5th time and look forward to sharing my learnings with my Sangha!
Read full review


Love Pema but....

I think overall this was a great retreat there were pieces I could really glean from; however, there were way to many audience member questions and not enough teachings.

I felt a lot of what the audience asked were the same thing almost in some cases.

I most likely won't listen to this one again.
Read full review

- Cenandra

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2016
  • Publisher: Sounds True