Regular price: $23.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Famous for demanding the truth from his Hardball guests, Chris Matthews reveals how the people running this country got to the top and exposes the tactics, tricks, and truths that help people get ahead. He can help you, too, whatever your field of ambition. Here are the methods, showcased in fascinating anecdotes and case histories, that presidents, senators, and other powerful people use to persuade others and win - and the life lessons they provide for the rest of us. You'll learn about Bill Clinton's laser-focused ability to listen to those he wants to seduce and how he's been teaching that craft to his wife, Hillary; how Ronald Reagan employed his basic optimism to win history to his side; the simple steps in human diplomacy that the first President Bush exploited to assemble a worldwide posse to attack Saddam Hussein and gain global approval in a way his son has failed to do; and how Nancy Pelosi became the first woman Speaker of the House by practicing the most fundamental of human qualities: hard-nosed loyalty. You'll also find out, for the first time, about Matthews' own wild ride through the turbulent, converging rapids of politics and journalism.
The big payoff in Life's a Campaign is what you'll learn about human nature, and how mastering and employing these truths separates the leaders from the followers.
©2007 Chris Matthews (P)2007 Random House Inc. Random House Audio, a division of Random House Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By User2015 on 05-29-15


I likes that the author is the one that narrayes it,
Very interesting to get to find out what it is like up in the political world

Read More Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 02-06-12

It was okay

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

It was interesting. I enjoyed the history and his inside knowledge of DC politics. His leap of transferring this experience into suggestions for how to be a better friend, etc. was a stretch.

If you’ve listened to books by Chris Matthews before, how does this one compare?


What does Chris Matthews bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Having Chris read the book added to the experience.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?


Any additional comments?


Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc