• by Sue Monk Kidd
  • Narrated by Kate Forbes
  • 4 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Firstlight, best-selling author Sue Monk Kidd offers readers an intimate glimpse into the early years of her journey as both writer and spiritual seeker. Drawn from the author's early writings for Guideposts and, to a lesser extent, other publications, this selection of personal reflections and essays is organized around 13 spiritual motifs and interwoven to create a compelling narrative about the author's spiritual awakening.Included are writings about the author's multiple roles as mother, daughter, wife, nurse, and writer. There are recollections about her extensive travels and reflections on her childhood and marriage. And there are musings on a stream of ordinary moments: watching a bird feeder, a homeless man, a golf tournament, all of which added richness and meaning to the author's journey.


What the Critics Say

"Fans of Joan Bauer and Louise Rennison will flock to this sweet confection of a first novel, as enjoyable as any treat from the real DQ." (School Library Journal)
"This humorous, romantic romp excels at revealing a situation seldom explored in YA novels." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worthy Read

Sue Monk Kidd is one of my favorite authors, so I found it interesting to hear her early thoughts... It wasn't as "schmaltzy" as I expected, and she clearly came out of the box as a pretty polished writer... Don't read expecting a story - it's a series of essays organized by theme. I wish that someone would do an audible version of Dance of the Dissident Daughter.
Read full review

- Cliff B

Simplicity. Depth. Inspiring.

I always enjoy every word, story, meaning, and lesson Sue Monk Kidd brings to life from observations of every day life.
Read full review

- IzzyH

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-25-2006
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio