Commit to Win

  • by Heidi Reeder PhD
  • Narrated by Heidi Reeder PhD
  • 5 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

What do you need besides motivation and willpower? In Commit to Win, Heidi Reeder, PhD, unpacks over 40 years of research by psychologists and economists to show that the key to reaching any goal, whether it’s to hit the gym more often or to finally quit that dead-end job, isn’t motivation, willpower, or determination. It’s commitment. Busting the myths most of us believe about commitment, Reeder shows that it all comes down to four variables:

Treasures: the benefits we get from working toward a goal
Troubles: the difficulties we have to deal with
Contributions: the time, money, and effort we invest
Choices: the number of good alternatives we have.
Together, these variables make up a formula that not only measures how committed we are, but also shows which factors we can change to get our commitment level in sync with what we want to do. Packed with practical examples and action plans for a variety of situations, Commit to Win will allow listeners to stop wishing for things to be different and instead make practical changes that will naturally empower them to reach their goals. It will appeal to readers of Succeed and The Willpower Instinct.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Practical, but misses passion

Commit to Win almost enchanted me. It is practical, well researched, objective, but something slipped from the author's view: I think it lacks passion. Heidi Reeder knows a lot about the subject of commitment and gives us the element to "going all in" or an alternative if it isn't working out (get out of the commitment without being ashamed or guilty), but the vast knowledge couldn't extrapolate to the pages with heart beating words. 4 stars, not five, but a good book after all.
Read full review

- ANDRÉ "I love AUDIBLE! I never get mad at traffic jams and can listen to many different books, despite of my short time."

Gives EXACTLY what it promises

What did you love best about Commit to Win?

I loved how the book provided RESEARCH to support its claims. So much of the self-help literature spouts steps, techniques, and processes to make its statements, often only using anecdotes. Dr. Reeder used ONLY research (and a great deal of it, I might add) to give its listener four "no BS" elements that a person can actively work within to increase or decrease his or her commitment to whatever they choose.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked how the final chapters gave the step-by-step, workbook-fashion instructions of how to use the four elements to increase or decrease one's commitment. I truly dislike when self-help books fill their contents with preaching and motivation while lacking (sometimes COMPLETELY) instructions on how to perform that things promised.

Have you listened to any of Heidi Reeder PhD’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, I have read nothing else by this author with which to compare this book.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No. Admittedly, the book is not "sexy" or engaging a way that makes it irresistible to press pause and take a break. Justly so; I think of it more as an "instruction manual". After reading it, I made definite plans to return to the final chapters to work through the step.

Read full review

- Kevin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-30-2014
  • Publisher: Gildan Media, LLC