What Just Happened

  • by James Gleick
  • Narrated by Dan Cashman
  • 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As one of our leading science writers, James Gleick has always been ahead of the curve. He chronicled the genius of the great physicist Richard Feynman and explained chaos theory in a way all of us could understand. Now, in a collection of previously published pieces, he muses on the Internet revolution that has taken place all around us. From the foibles and ambitions of Microsoft, which he predicted would come to take over the world years before it became obvious to the rest of us, to the futuristic possibilities of mobile networked computing, Gleick gives us a gradual and inexorable account of the way computers have come to pervade our lives.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Past it's prime

This would have been a great read some years ago, but the information age has progressed so rapidly that it is now largely outdated. Come back in twenty years and it will be interesting as a chronicle of the early years; now it is just old news.
Read full review

- Stephanie

Out of Date for 2005

I picked up "What Just Happened" as I recognized Gleick as the author of "Chaos". If I read "What Just Happened" first, I would hadn't read "Chaos". :-(

Simply put as the other reviewers have said, it is out of date. The last essay is 2000 or 2001 so I was surprised when I saw that it had been released in 2005.

I've been using the 'net since 1991 and I enjoyed someone else's perspective for what was happening as the rest of America discovered the 'net in the mid-90's. In his latter essays, I was just waiting for him to finish his essay as he was just plain wrong.

I might be recommended to a 'net newbie that might be interested in some historical background. Otherwise, would not. I would bet that most Audible listeners whom use Audible, i.e., the recordings aren't selected and downloaded by someone else, are beyond "What Just Happened".
Read full review

- Tom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-18-2005
  • Publisher: Books on Tape