Thrifty Green

  • by Priscilla Short
  • Narrated by Madeleine Lambert
  • 5 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Priscilla Short lived off the grid for a year in a straw bale house in Taos, New Mexico, with no electricity, no running water, and a wood burning stove for heat. At the end of the year, Short returned home to Denver committed to making a smaller ecological footprint by consuming less and conserving more.
In Thrifty Green, Short offers a unique, resource-by-resource approach that shows us that the best way to practice conservation, the real win-win, involves saving money as we lighten up.
In the tradition of Ed Begley, Jr.'s Living with Ed, this book will help you make crucial decisions about transportation, heat, power, light, water, food, and garbage.
Peppered with examples of people living both on and off the grid, eccentric and ordinary, who are deliberately making choices to live with less, Thrifty Green is much more than a how-to book. It is a conscientious guide to the art of going green that includes a wealth of terrific tips, fun facts, and straightforward strategies that will make you think about conservation in a whole new way.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios