The Yorkshire Shepherdess

  • by Amanda Owen
  • Narrated by Anne Dover
  • 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Amanda Owen has been seen by millions on ITV's The Dales, living a life that has almost gone in today's modern world, a life ruled by the seasons and her animals. She is a farmer's wife and shepherdess, living alongside her husband, Clive, and seven children at Ravenseat, a 2,000 acre sheep hill farm at the head of Swaledale in North Yorkshire. It's a challenging life but one she loves.
In The Yorkshire Shepherdess, she describes how the rebellious girl from Huddersfield, who always wanted to be a shepherdess, achieved her dreams. Full of amusing anecdotes and unforgettable characters, the book takes us from fitting in with the locals to fitting in motherhood, from the demands of the livestock to the demands of raising a large family in such a rural backwater.
Amanda also evokes the peace of winter, when they can be cut off by snow without electricity or running water, the happiness of spring and the lambing season, and the backbreaking tasks of summertime - haymaking and sheepshearing - inspiring us all to look at the countryside and those who work there with new appreciation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Owen is a great example feminine strength

Amanda Owen shares her experience of becoming a shepherdess from the spark of the dream, through realization of her dream, and continuation in the next generation. Climbing the snowy hills with bales of hay for the sheep and a baby strapped to her back. She is a great example feminine strength. She shares the highs and lows she has experienced through her families eyes and moves the reader to laugh and cry along her journey.

Her descriptions transport you to her family farm and stories provide enough background so that even the most citified readers feel at home listening. I enjoyed this book so much, I couldn't wait to start the sequel.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2017
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio