The Highly Sensitive Child

  • by Elaine Aron
  • Narrated by Susan Boyce
  • 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With the publication of The Highly Sensitive Person, Elaine Aron became the first person to identify the inborn trait of high sensitivity and to show how it affects the lives of those who possess it. Now, Aron shifts her focus to highly sensitive children.
Rooted in Aron's years of experience as a psychotherapist and her original research on child temperament, The Highly Sensitive Child shows how HSCs are born deeply reflective, sensitive to the subtle, and easily overwhelmed. These qualities can make for smart, conscientious, creative children, but with the wrong parenting or schooling they can become unusually shy or timid or begin acting out.
In this pioneering work, parents will find helpful self-tests and case studies to help them understand their HSC along with thorough advice on parenting a highly sensitive child. With chapters addressing the needs of specific age groups, from newborns through teens, The Highly Sensitive Child delivers warmhearted, timely information for parents, teachers, and the sensitive children in their lives.


What the Critics Say

"Aron offers helpful advice that will assist both nonsensitive and highly sensitive parents through all stages of their child's development from infancy to adolescence." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

HSP required reading!

No matter the age at which u discover u r HSP, this book will take u back to childhood and validate your experience. Required reading for all HSPs, parents and friends and teachers of HSPs. Thank goodness for Elaine Aron!
Read full review

- Sierra Nevada Homesteader

So helpful with our little HSC!

so many helpful recommendations and insights. this book is really helping us to better support our HSC. We are going to use this like a textbook and keep referring back to remember all the helpful hints.
Read full review

- le cicliste

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio