The Examined Life

  • by Stephen Grosz
  • Narrated by Peter Marinker
  • 5 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An extraordinary book for anyone eager to understand the hidden motives that shape our lives.
We are all storytellers—we create stories to make sense of our lives. But it is not enough to tell tales; there must be someone to listen.
In his work as a practicing psychoanalyst, Stephen Grosz has spent the last twenty-five years uncovering the hidden feelings behind our most baffling behavior. The Examined Life distills more than fifty thousand hours of conversation into pure psychological insight without the jargon.
This extraordinary book is about one ordinary process: talking, listening, and understanding. Its aphoristic and elegant stories teach us a new kind of attentiveness. They also unveil a delicate self-portrait of the analyst at work and show how lessons learned in the consulting room can reveal as much to the analyst as to the patient.
These are stories about our everyday lives; they are about the people we love and the lies we tell, the changes we bear and the grief. Ultimately, they show us not only how we lose ourselves but also how we might find ourselves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting insights into psychoanalysis

The idea of seeing a psychoanalyst five days a week for years struck me as self-indulgent, but this book showed how some individuals' destructive behavior needs that ongoing, intense attention to unravel the subconscious reasons. Grosz presents a wide variety of issues and includes how his patients' issues and his response to them prompted him to analyze himself. Two stories affected me deeply: his father's return to the locations where he spent his pre-WWII youth, and a violent child who spat in Grosz's face every day for a year and a half.

The narrator did a wonderful job. He communicated Grosz's obvious intelligence and thought-based approach.
Read full review

- laurie "I have edited 38 national best sellers and had a writing fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities."

Not Pop Psych; actual observatns of psychoanalyst

This book is worth a credit. This isn't Dr. Phil. A psychoanalyst examines common problems observed in patients over many years. Interesting, significant and relevant problems, some of which you have either seen or suffered [er, well, losing the wallet, losing everything, yes].

If the book were a little longer, I'd have given it 5. I'll say 4.5, erring on the side of 4 overall and 5 on the substance. ANALYZE THAT!
Read full review

- W Perry Hall ""There is scarcely any passion without struggle." Camus, The Myth of Sisyphus and Other Essays"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-28-2013
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.