The Black Hole War

  • by Leonard Susskind
  • Narrated by Ray Porter
  • 12 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

What happens when something is sucked into a black hole? Does it disappear? Three decades ago, a young physicist named Stephen Hawking claimed that it did - and in doing so, put at risk everything we know about the fundamental laws of the universe. Leonard Susskind and Gerard 't Hooft realized the threat and responded with a counterattack that changed the course of physics.The Black Hole War is the thrilling story of their united effort to reconcile Hawking's theories of black holes with their own sense of reality, an effort that would eventually result in Hawking admitting he was wrong and Susskind and 't Hooft realizing that our world is a hologram projected from the outer boundaries of space.A brilliant book about the deepest mysteries of modern physics, The Black Hole War is mind-bending and exhilarating listening.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good, but has its flaws

If this is your first layman's physics book you may want to try something else, but those who read about physics often will probably enjoy it. The book contains a lot of fascinating discussions and explanations making the physics of black holes, the holographic principle, and some aspects of string theory a little more graspable. The story is initially engaging but I lost interest toward the end as it delved deeper into string theory. My biggest complaint would be the tone of the book; It can be at times over-dramatic about the "war" and Hawking and physics in general.
Read full review

- Matthew


What made the experience of listening to The Black Hole War the most enjoyable?

Loved it! This was a wonderful audiobook. Only part I didn't really like was that the formulas were read out loud slowly... it was just akward. This is where it would be cool to have sync-with-images audiobook so you could see the formulas on your ipod as you listened.

Read full review

- wendy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-08-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.