The Beekeeper's Lament

  • by Hannah Nordhaus
  • Narrated by Xe Sands
  • 7 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations.
In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus' stunning exposé illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

More

What the Critics Say

"A fascinating read from cover to cover." (Associated Press)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An excellent, very poetic read.

This has been one of the best books on bees I've read in some time, highly recommended.
Read full review

- C. Garcia

Loved the book

Well worth the read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the author is a good storyteller. I also enjoyed the history of beekeeping through the book comma and I feel like I understand the background and importance of bees. I will listen to this again on Audible.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-17-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio