Regular price: $20.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations.
In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus' stunning exposé illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.
©2011 Hannah Nordhaus (P)2016 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A fascinating read from cover to cover." ( Associated Press)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By M. Cieri on 02-23-17

Interesting listen!

Would you listen to The Beekeeper's Lament again? Why?

I didn't listen to it straight through as the content is dry - you need to love bees to love this book - so I listened in stages but the book is well done and interesting. Performance was great.

Read More Hide me

27 of 27 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Argos on 06-14-17

From a beekeeper

I could hear Miller's personality and voice as I sit here and wire frames, wondering if the crazy rain will let up so virgins that I grafted from Dr. Greg Hunt's Purdue University Mite biter breeders can take mating flights. The writing is so damn good. Such a great writer; well researched on so many levels. The reader's voice. So in tune and so real. Incredible incredible performance. I'm a man and not afraid to say that this made me smile and cry at the same time, more than once. Thank you so much Hanna Nordhaus and Xe Sands.

Read More Hide me

69 of 73 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews