Regular price: $17.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Tales of a Shaman's Apprentice has been called "one of the greatest adventure stories ever told." Author Mark Plotkin, chief ethnobotanist for Conservation International, has spent much of the past 15 years tracking the shamans of the northeast Amazon. Their knowledge of healing plants may hold the cure to some of today's most devastating diseases.This book is a critically acclaimed account of his apprenticeship to these powerful wise men, a gripping journey into a wild and wonderful world seldom glimpsed by outsiders.
©2001 Mark J. Plotkin; (P)2008 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A skillful blend of travel adventure, botanical and cultural history, and Amazonian research." (Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Tim on 10-05-08


One of my all time favorites. I read the book years ago and have passed it to many friends to share. It was great to listen to the book again on this audio version. Mark Plotkin brings us a true understanding of just how important the resources of the Amazon are to all of us, especially the medicinal properties of rainforest plants. The lesson in science and history is fascinating and Plotkin's personal journey is thoroughly engaging. You will love this book and want to share with friends.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

By Brenda on 05-03-10


I am an Native person, and I do our traditional medicines here in Canada. This story touched me to the depths of my soul.
I was sad and angry and happy and amazed all through this book. It has inspired me to ensure our traditions live on, and to kick the church and the missionaries back where they belong.... not with Indigenous people. These folks need to respect our cultures, traditions and spiritual beliefs and to stop cramming theirs down our throats!
Additionally the importance of this work hilights how we really need to ensure all these practices and this knowledge must be kept alive.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Greycat on 01-11-09

Letdown by poor narration

Probably a decent and interesting book to read, but this is really let down by very poor storytelling. The narrator has a very monotonous voice, and really can't put any emotion into what should be exciting adventures and interesting accounts. A real shame.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc