Seven Brief Lessons on Physics

  • by Carlo Rovelli
  • Narrated by Carlo Rovelli
  • 1 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Everything you need to know about the beauty of modern physics.
In seven brief lessons, Italian theoretical physicist Carlo Rovelli guides listeners with admirable clarity through the most transformative physics breakthroughs of the 20th and 21st centuries. This playful, entertaining, and mind-bending introduction to modern physics, already a major best seller in Italy, explains general relativity, quantum mechanics, elementary particles, gravity, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, and the role of humans in the strange world Rovelli describes.
This is a book about the joy of discovery. It takes listeners to the frontiers of our knowledge: to the most minute reaches of the fabric of space, back to the origins of the cosmos, and into the workings of our minds. "Here, on the edge of what we know, in contact with the ocean of the unknown, shines the mystery and the beauty of the world," Rovelli writes. "And it's breathtaking."


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book for the scientifically curious

At times, the concepts in the book stretched scientific brain power that I haven't used in 20 years but it was nothing too daunting. if you've ever had a love of science, give it a try.

Oh and don't be afraid to rewind and listen to something again if you didn't catch it the first time.
Read full review

- Brad Yeary

Happy I found it

I'm sorry Carlo! but I had to listen extra careful because of the accent. :/

Great quick book on lessons that demonstrate the immense brain power of our science community. It took Albert nearly a decade to solve a problem even with his brain power. That blows my mind because it shows me how much more advanced he is than I. Data scientists should gather together and honor Einstein by creating an entity to compete with Watson
Read full review

- Erduan E.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-01-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio