• by Jesse Bering
  • Narrated by Jesse Bering
  • 6 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A groundbreaking argument that perversions are more common than we think, from everyone’s favorite provocateur.
In his eye-opening new book, Perv, the award-winning columnist and psychologist Jesse Bering argues that we are all sexual deviants on one level or another. As Bering takes us into the lives of a woman who falls madly in love with the Eiffel Tower, a young man addicted to seductive sneezes, and a pair of deeply affectionate identical twins, among others, he challenges us to move beyond our judgments and attitudes toward "deviant" sex and consider the alternative: What would happen if we rise above our fears and revulsions and accepted our true natures?
With his signature wit and irreverent style, Bering pulls back the curtains on the history of perversions, the biological reasons behind our distaste for unusual sexual proclivities, and the latest research on desire. Armed with reason, science, and an insatiable appetite for knowledge, he humanizes deviants while asking some very provocative questions about the nature of hypocrisy, prejudice, and when sexual desire can lead to harm.
A groundbreaking look at our complex relationship with our carnal urges and the ways in which we disguise, deny, and shame the sexual deviant in all of us, Perv brings our hidden desires into the light.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I listened to this author on Dan Savage's podcast and was immediately compelled to get the book. It was extremely well-written by a very clever author who is also an excellent narrator. Very interesting, entertaining, and memorable.
Read full review

- Matthew "Avid audiobook addict!"

A sleeper….

Any additional comments?

This book is really a definition of terms and an explanation of how we came to such labels. The performance is good enough, but the content is boring.

Read full review

- Fan Diego Ceiling Fans - Your Comfort. Your Style.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-08-2013
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio