A Year in the Life of the Yorkshire Shepherdess

  • by Amanda Owen
  • Narrated by Janine Birkett
  • 11 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From best-selling author Amanda Owen come more tales of life at Ravenseat, the remote Yorkshire hill farm she shares with husband Clive, eight children and 1,000 sheep.
In A Year in the Life of the Yorkshire Shepherdess she describes the age-old cycles of a farming year and the constant challenges the family faces, from being cut off in winter to tending their flock on some of Yorkshire's highest, bleakest moors - land so inaccessible that in places it can be reached only on foot.
Writing with her trademark warmth and humour, Amanda takes us into her life as nine-year-old Miles gets his first flock, Reuben takes up the flugelhorn and she gives birth to a new baby girl. She is touched by the epic two-day journey of a mother sheep determined to find her lamb and gives a new home to an ageing and neglected horse.
Meanwhile Clive is almost arrested on a midnight stakeout to catch a sheep-worrying dog and becomes the object of affection for a randy young bull.
Funny, poignant and charming, A Year in the Life of the Yorkshire Shepherdess is a must for anyone interested in the countryside and those who farm it.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another year of the saga and not disappointed

Amanda Owen continues the story of her expanding family and her life as a shepherdess. This book shares new stories that provide a rich view of this difficult and rewarding life. In this book you get to know a few more of the local characters in the community as well. She shares the highs and lows she has experienced through her families eyes and moves the reader to laugh and cry along her journey.

Her descriptions transport you to her family farm and stories provide enough background so that even the most citified readers feel at home listening. I have to admit, I can't get enough and would love to see a third book in her series.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2017
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio