Zombie Fallout : Zombie Fallout

  • by Mark Tufo
  • Narrated by Sean Runnette
  • Series: Zombie Fallout
  • 10 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It was a flu season like no other. With the H1N1 virus running rampant throughout the country, people lined up in droves to try and attain one of the coveted vaccines. What was not known was the effect this largely untested, rushed to market, inoculation was to have on the unsuspecting throngs. Within days, feverish folk throughout the country convulsed, collapsed, and died, only to be reborn. With a taste for brains, blood, and bodies, these modern-day zombies scoured the lands for their next meal. Overnight the country became a killing ground for the hordes of zombies that ravaged the land.
This is the story of Michael Talbot, his family, and his friends: a band of ordinary people trying to get by in extraordinary times. When disaster strikes, Mike, a self-proclaimed survivalist, does his best to ensure the safety and security of those he cares for. Book one of the Zombie Fallout Trilogy follows our lead character at his self-deprecating, sarcastic best. What he encounters along the way leads him down a long dark road, always skirting the edge of insanity.
Can he keep his family safe? Can he discover the secret behind Tommy's powers? Can he save anyone from the zombie queen? Encircled in a seemingly safe haven called Little Turtle, Mike and his family, together with the remnants of a tattered community, must fight against a relentless, ruthless, unstoppable force. This last bastion of civilization has made its final stand. God help them all.


What the Critics Say

"Once you read the first few pages of Zombie Fallout, you're in for the series." (John Ramsey Miller, author of The Last Family)
“The word lighthearted doesn’t usually come to mind when we think of the zombie apocalypse, but Sean Runnette does a skillful job balancing humor with horror in this audio edition, which makes for an entertaining stroll with the walking dead…Runnette gives Talbot a dry, I-knew-this-was-going-to-happen-to-me-someday attitude that captures the wry spirit of Tufo’s prose. This provides a welcome departure from the doom and gloom of most zombie tales, and Runnette wrings plenty of chuckles from the material. Still, the narrator doesn’t forget that this is an apocalyptic horror story, making sure there are plenty of chills and thrills along the way.” (Publisher’s Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I Was Scared All The Way Down To My Meat And

Potatoes.(A line from the book, not a description of the book.)

This is a sitcom, plain and simple. Almost every line is an attempt at humor. There are some really funny lines and lots of misses. I will have to say the book is never boring. I will have to also say the book is never great. Tufo shows he has some imagination and that he can write. In this book though he could not figure out if he wanted to be funny or serious and ended up being neither as a whole. Fart jokes abound in this and sometimes he will drag the same fart joke out for several minutes.

The whole book is done in first person and the main character says everything in a smirkingly way. I did not like the character at first, put he grew on me. In parts the book is very gross and the humor does not relieve you from it, it just makes it grosser.

This has a audience, it has gotten some really good reviews, the Zombie Queen even gave it four stars. It is not for me and I will not be following this series. If Tufo has written a serious scary book, I will read that, I am just not into one liners.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

So much Fun!

Any additional comments?

What a fantastic listen. I love Zombie books and this is a great one. I love the humor, it fits in perfectly, I think Mike is a great main character and the narrator does a fantastic job of bringing everyone 'to life'. A nice light and easy listen.
The story could use some more development, but with 7 books in the series, this was a great start.

Read full review

- Roger

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-27-2012
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio