Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool 1 - 5) : The Silo Saga

  • by Hugh Howey
  • Narrated by Minnie Goode
  • Series: The Silo Saga
  • 17 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is the story of mankind clawing for survival, of mankind on the edge. The world outside has grown unkind, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they profess to want: They are allowed outside.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I just finished this listen about 5 minutes ago. There will not be spoilers in this review- I like to give that heads up from the start.

Howey manages to write an extremely unique version of the dystopian future genre. The 'Omnibus' edition is made up of 5 parts, each one cumulative but distinct. A believable story with complex characters tackling massive concepts.

I think Minnie did a very decent job with the narration. There are parts when I felt she went a bit overboard with her characterizations of certain voices (Juliet sometimes [not always] making me cringe just a bit). However, her general narration tone was extremely balanced and pleasant to listen to.

Unexpected plot points and twists. I was surprised at the depth of character development achieved- genuinely cared about the outcome and fates of those in the story. Even the not so great morally.

I enjoyed this book a great deal overall, but it took me a long time to finish it; this is relatively unusual for me. I'm one of those listeners who can blow through a book in a couple of days if it really grabs me. Definitely worth your time if you are a fan of this genre- far more so than *many* of the offerings out there. I will be listening to the rest of the series.
Read full review

- Charlie

Annoyingly good...

This book is the worst narrated audiobook I have ever listened to. The narrator used very bizarre voices for many of the characters , I almost could not listen to her.
The premise of the story is good and its nice that sixteen year olds are not the main characters in this dystopian story...for once. I am curious to see what happens next but I fear that the story is heading in a hopeless direction. I hope I am proven wrong in that assumption. I am very glad the next installment is read by someone else!
Read full review

- Lizzystick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-27-2012
  • Publisher: Broad Reach Publishing