Wizard of the Wasteland

  • by Jon Cronshaw
  • Narrated by Ian Coleman
  • 6 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Finding hope in a hopeless world....
Abel survived the apocalypse, but drugs nearly killed him. He scratches out a living scavenging for anything of value until he witnesses something incredible...the Wizard of the Wasteland.
When Abel joins the travelling showman, passing off pre-apocalypse technology as objects of magic and intrigue, they come upon a horrifying sight: a group of children enslaved by the brutal drug gang The Family.
As he and the wizard take on the challenge of freeing the slaves, Abel must resist the temptations of a world without hope. To keep the kids from reliving his miserable existence, he'll have to risk everything. Even having the wizard on his side may not be enough....
Wizard of the Wasteland is a post-apocalyptic action adventure novel for fans of Fallout, The Stand, Alas, Babylon, and The Road. If you like unforgettable characters, gripping action, and new takes on dystopian survival tales, then you'll love the first book in Jon Cronshaw's thrilling new series.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great premises but poor execution

In an post-apocalyptic world where technology is seen as magic, Alfonso, the great Wizard of the Wasteland travels from town to town to share a piece of his magic. At one of the towns he visits, he meets Abel, which decides to join the Wizard, and together they will try to save some enslaved children.

I usually enjoy post-apocalyptic stories, and this one had great premises, but I found the execution quite poor. It felt disjointed and confusing at times. The characters were one-dimensional, and it is still a mystery to me why Abel decided to join the Wizard.

I am usually very curious about what happened to trigger the change in the world, but in this case I just didn’t care. I also found strange that some people seemed to remember technology and others didn’t, and that very few people knew how to read. Reading and writing is something that has been among us from very distant times, and it is not something especially tied to civilization or electricity. It is just very difficult for me to believe that this situation could happen one day.

Even with these setbacks, my main problem with the book were the characters. They were mere drafts, with no depth. I also found the dialogs forced and awkward at times.

Ian Coleman’s narration did not help. He delivered a narration without technical issues, and distinctive voices for the characters, but the general tone of the narration was monotone, and I had to force myself to pay attention, which I found difficult. The dialogs were just okay, and I would recommend Coleman to work on his interpretation skills.

This was just an okay book, entertaining, but far from compelling.

I received a copy of this book in audio format from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Read full review

- Lomeraniel

Interesting Idea for a post apocalyptic novel

I liked this more than I thought I would. The idea of tech being precieved as magic in the future. Though I will say the performance left something to be desired. There were odd pauses between characters that didn't make sense and sometimes the narrators flow would just stop. But over all it was a good book.

Received this copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Read full review

- Jonathan Liechti

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-24-2017
  • Publisher: No World Press