Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Finding hope in a hopeless world....
Abel survived the apocalypse, but drugs nearly killed him. He scratches out a living scavenging for anything of value until he witnesses something incredible...the Wizard of the Wasteland.
When Abel joins the travelling showman, passing off pre-apocalypse technology as objects of magic and intrigue, they come upon a horrifying sight: a group of children enslaved by the brutal drug gang The Family.
As he and the wizard take on the challenge of freeing the slaves, Abel must resist the temptations of a world without hope. To keep the kids from reliving his miserable existence, he'll have to risk everything. Even having the wizard on his side may not be enough....
Wizard of the Wasteland is a post-apocalyptic action adventure novel for fans of Fallout, The Stand, Alas, Babylon, and The Road. If you like unforgettable characters, gripping action, and new takes on dystopian survival tales, then you'll love the first book in Jon Cronshaw's thrilling new series.
©2017 Jon Cronshaw (P)2017 No World Press
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Michelle Titherington VanDaley on 09-11-17

Captivating

Wizard of the wasteland held me captivated. I became quickly invested in the characters. The Author did a wonderful job at world building and character development. The pace was pretty even and Ian Coleman did a good job as narrator bringing the story and characters to life. I am defintely interested in reading more of this series!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Aaron Shahin on 12-14-17

Interesting and Fun

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review." this was a fun book to listen to. I like the twists in the post apocalyptic world.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Norma Miles on 09-16-17

You got a plan?

Any additional comments?

Set in a post apocalyptic time when society's remnants have settled into a new rhythm of life, the old magic of technology is mostly forgotten and the Wizard trades on this, making a living revealing to the new generations the magic of forgotten arts, like electricity. A young man, Abel, and his faithful dog, Pip, leave the security of the Trinity community to join with the Wizard and, hopefully, travel in company with him.This is the story of their travels.

This is not the often frequently told post apocalyptic tale of vicious fighting for survival in a world disintegrating. Time has moved on. Not too many had survived. But it is not a tale of sweetness and light, either. There are small enclaves of habitation but also 'loners', too, and the rules are what anyone can make them. So this is not a journey of peaceful transition. But it is one of pain, tentative friendship, fear - and discovery.

Told in the present tense with short, snappy sentences, there is a feeling of meticulous concentration to all that is happening and, from very early in the text there is a growing sense of tension. And the steady narration of Ian Coleman matches the pace and the hard emotions felt by Abel perfectly. His voicings of the various other protagonists is similarly appropriate and distinct. The whole is both disturbing, bleak but also hopeful. People are different and this story reflects this.

I received a complementary copy of The Wizard of the Wasteland, at my request, from the rights holder, via Audiobook Boom. My thanks for that. I found this to be a story which really insinuated it's way under my skin, the main characters in particular becoming very real to me, and I both feared for them and rejoiced in their small achievements. Strangely, a sense of calm seemed to flow from the pages and there was, for me, a sadness when the book ended.
A different type of story and one I certainly recommend.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Mr James Emberson on 11-28-17

Intriguing start to the series

I won an audio copy of this book in a competition but only entered in the first place because I had enjoyed reading the prequel, Addict of the Wasteland, so much. The sparse, direct writing style is refreshing and creates a tone that sits well with the desolate landscapes the characters inhabit and navigate. The bond between man and dog gives the narrative heart in spite of the harsh environments, and the wizard character is interesting and unpredictable enough to hold his own in any post-apocalyptic novel. As with all audiobooks, the story is at the mercy of the narrator, which makes some of the villains slightly less intimidating than they probably are in print. But overall a fun slice of post-apocalyptic adventure fiction that sets things up nicely for Knight of the Wasteland.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc