• by Luke Smitherd
  • Narrated by Luke Smitherd
  • 7 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Audible #1 bestsellers In The Darkness, That’s Where I’ll Know You, The Physics of the Dead, and The Stone Man - shortlisted for the Audible Audiobook of the Year award 2015 - comes this special omnibus edition collecting three of Luke Smitherd's books: Hold On Until Your Fingers Break, The Man On Table Ten, and My Name Is Mister Grief, plus exclusive bonus story "The Crash", unavailable anywhere else!
Luke Smitherd is bringing his unique brand of strange storytelling once again, delivered here in an omnibus edition that collects four of his weirdest and darkest tales:
My Name Is Mister Grief. What if you could get rid of your pain immediately? What price would you be prepared to pay?
Hold On Until Your Fingers Break. A hangover, a forgotten night out, old men screaming in the street, and a mystery with a terrible, terrible answer ...
The Man On Table Ten. He has a story to tell you. One that he has kept secret for decades. But now, the man on table ten can take no more, and the knowledge – as well as the burden – is now yours.
EXCLUSIVE story, The Crash. If you put a dent in someone's car, the consequences can be far greater – and more strange – than you expect.
"For me there is no greater joy than seeing an artist excel at his craft. WEIRD and DARK, yes, but more importantly…exciting and imaginative. Whether you've read his novels and are already a fan or these stories are your first introduction to Smitherd's work, you'll be blown away by the abundance of ideas.” – Ain't It Cool
(For How To Be A Vigilante: A Diary)
From the author of Audible #1 bestsellers In The Darkness, That’s Where I’ll Know You, The Physics of the Dead, and The Stone Man (shortlisted for the Audible Audiobook of the Year award 2015)
In the late 1990s, a laptop was found in a service station just outside of Manchester. It contained a digital journal entitled 'TO THE FINDER: OPEN NOW TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE!' Now, for the first time, that infamous diary is being published in its entirety.
It's 1998. The Internet age is still in its infancy. Google has just been founded. Eighteen-year-old supermarket shelf-stacker Nigel Carmelite has decided that he's going to become a vigilante.
There are a few problems: how is he going to even find crime to fight on the streets of Derbyshire? How will he create a superhero costume - and an arsenal of crime-fighting weaponry - on a shoestring budget? And will his history of blackouts and crippling social inadequacy affect his chances? This is Nigel's account of his journey; part diary, part deluded self-help manual, tragically comic and slowly descending into what is arguably Luke Smitherd's darkest and most violent novel.
What do you believe in? And more importantly, should you?


What the Critics Say

"...a novel that intrigues, enthralls, horrifies, thrills, and hits the reader with an emotional resonance as only the best stories can." (Ain'
"...strong characterization, moral quandaries, mystery, and a whole lot of tense moments. Reading the final sentence was truly a bittersweet moment." (


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great to hear in the author's voice

I think you will be pleased with this assortment of stories that will eerily invade your brain and take you to fantastic places that really make you think, "Wow! What would I do/feel in this odd situation? " Smitherd has an exceptional gift for presenting one with situations and giving the reader pause to consider new ideas and explore emotions they may keep under tight wraps. Who knew that you could possibly experience personal growth through reading a highly suspenseful collection of stories?! I'm so glad I read them, as I glimpsed much about my own character after reading about these characters!
Read full review

- Barbra "FunkMama"

Weird and Dark

Okay so the title of this review isn't original, but it perfectly describes the contents of Weird. Dark. It's not often I enjoy a book read by the author, but Smitherd has a clear voice and the production quality was superb. He does read quite fast, which I enjoyed, but the fast pace may be hard for some to follow.

The stories in this collection mess with your head and do so without the gore many stories contain. This makes them perfect for all kinds of horror fans.
Read full review

- Dawnzilla "Dawn"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-01-2015
  • Publisher: Flying Body Press