Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Philip K. Dick (1928-1982) was one of the seminal figures of 20th century science fiction. His many stories and novels, which include such classics as The Man in the High Castle and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, reflect a deeply personal worldview, exploring the fragile, multifarious nature of reality itself and examining those elements that make us - or fail to make us - fully human. He did as much as anyone to demolish the artificial barrier between genre fiction and literature, and the best of his work has earned a permanent place in American popular culture.
Upon the Dull Earth is the third installment of a uniform, five-volume edition of The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick. This generous collection contains 22 stories and novellas written in 1953 and 1954, along with extensive - and valuable - story notes. Included here are a number of bona fide PKD classics, among them the title story, the brilliantly conceived account of a bizarre, ultimately catastrophic resurrection, "The Father-Thing," in which a young boy comes to realize that his once familiar father has somehow changed, and The Golden Man (filmed in 2007 as Next), which tells the tale of a golden skinned mutant who may represent the future direction of the human race. These and all the other stories in this important and necessary audiobook offer a wide range of literary and intellectual pleasures. At the same time, they provide a fascinating glimpse into the continuing development of this iconic - and hugely influential - figure.
©2012 Laura Leslie, Isa Dick Hackett, and Christopher Dick (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Renee Tang on 05-30-17

Pretty good but I enjoyed Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 more

Volume 3: Upon The Dull Earth

1. Fair Game (1959)
2. The Hanging Stranger (1953)
3. The Eyes Have It (1953)
4. The Golden Man (1954)
5. The Turning Wheel (1954)
6. The Last of the Masters (1954)
7. The Father-Thing (1954)
8. Strange Eden (1954)
9. Tony and the Beetles (1954)
10. Null-O (1958)
11. To Serve the Master (1956)
12. Exhibit Piece (1954)
13. The Crawlers (1954)
14. Sales Pitch (1954)
15. Shell Game (1954)
16. Upon the Dull Earth (1954)
17. Foster, You're Dead (1955)
18. Pay for the Printer (1956)
19. War Veteran (1955)
20. The Chromium Fence (1955)
21. Misadjustment (1957)
22. A World of Talent (1954)
23. Psi-Man Heal my Child (1955)
24. Notes

Read More Hide me

16 of 16 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 08-25-17

PKD hits his stride

I really enjoyed the later stories in this collection. Pay the Printer is a great, but there is also a good measure of intrigue and twists in many of the stories

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc