Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Philip K. Dick (1928-1982) was one of the seminal figures of 20th century science fiction. His many stories and novels, which include such classics as The Man in the High Castle and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, reflect a deeply personal world view, exploring the fragile, multifarious nature of reality itself and examining those elements that make us - or fail to make us - fully human. He did as much as anyone to demolish the artificial barrier between genre fiction and "literature," and the best of his work has earned a permanent place in American popular culture.
The King of the Elves is the opening installment of a uniform, five-volume edition of The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick, expanded from the previous Collected Stories set to incorporate new story notes, and two added tales, one previously unpublished, and one uncollected. This generous collection contains 22 stories and novellas including Dick's first published story, "Beyond Lies the Wub," together with such landmark tales as "The Preserving Machine," in which an attempt to preserve our fragile cultural heritage takes an unexpected turn, The Variable Man, a brilliantly imagined novella encompassing war, time travel, and the varied uses of technology, and the title story, in which Shadrach Jones, owner of a dilapidated gas station in Colorado, stumbles into an ongoing war between trolls and elves, and encounters a fantastic - and utterly unexpected - destiny. Like the best of Dick's novels, these stories offer a wide variety of narrative and intellectual pleasures, and provide an ideal introduction to one of the singular imaginations of the modern era.
©2010 The Philip K. Dick Testamentary Trust (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Renee Tang on 04-18-17

Fantastic stories!

I loved Volume 1 and look forward to completing the rest of the series. Mr. Dick was a visionary. For the most part, I liked the narrator but sometimes the men's "voices" sounded a bit stilted.

I wished Audible listed the title for each chapter in the Table of Contents. I created my own, as listed below for Volume 1.

Volume 1: The King of Elves
1. Stability (1987)
2. Roog (1953)
3. The Little Movement (1952)
4. Beyond Lies the Wub (1952)
5. The Gun (1952)
6. The Skull (1952)
7. The Defenders (1953)
8. Mr. Spaceship (1953)
9. Piper in the Woods (1953)
10. The Infinites (1953)
11. The Preserving Machine [Doc Labyrinth series] (1953), part 1
12. The Preserving Machine [Doc Labyrinth series] (1953), part 2
13. Expendable (1953)
14. The Variable Man (1953), part 1
15. The Variable Man (1953), part 2
16. The Indefatigable Frog (1953)
17. The Crystal Crypt (1954)
18. The Short Happy Life of the Brown Oxford [Doc Labyrinth series] (1954)
19. The Builder (1954)
20. Meddler (1954)
21. Paycheck (1953)
22. The Great C (1953)
23. Out in the Garden (1953)
24. The King of the Elves (1953)
25. Colony (1953)
26. Prize Ship (1954)
27. Nanny (1955)
28. Notes, part 1
29. Notes, part 2

Read More Hide me

49 of 49 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 04-15-17


classic short science fiction, has a lot of reread-ability! the performance was pretty good, kate rudd's voice sometimes became a bit lifeless though.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Daniel Crowley on 03-07-18

Poorly made.

I'm sorry to say that the quality of this collection is very poor. It certainly wasn't made for digital format, and is about as useful as a cassette tape. There is no gap between many of the chapters, so you will end up halfway through another story before you realise.

Some of the short stories are great, other not so much. Philip K Dick has great stories.

Read More Hide me
1 out of 5 stars
By Dominic Gill on 06-06-16

terrible amateurish reading

completely ruins what could have been an excellent production.
who makes these crucial decisions? far too often lack of intelligent quality control on Audible.

Read More Hide me

4 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 07-17-17

Early stories show the development of PKD

There are many interesting stories in the collection. Even when they are less than perfectly executed they already have the beginnings of the authors approach

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Peter on 05-12-17

Some Up Some Down..

A fine grouping of very listenable short stories with thought provoking ideas..
Some require to be heard a second time...

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc