Unsafe Haven : Surviving the Evacuation

  • by Frank Tayell
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: Surviving the Evacuation
  • 7 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sooner or later, you have to trust someone.
There are no reported outbreaks in the UK or Ireland. That's what the government broadcasted. Nilda didn't believe it. Not trusting the authorities, she, and her son, Jay, stay behind when Penrith is evacuated. After weeks of rationing, there is little food left in the small town and many other survivors competing for it. Choosing diplomacy over violence, she attempts to forge a community out of a disparate group. As zombies gather outside their walls, she realizes that they will have to seek sanctuary elsewhere. Nilda travels north into Scotland, but death follows, and she is forced to leave once more.
Joining with others who have survived the evacuation, she finds not all of them have the same motives. Some, like Tuck, Sebastian, and the Abbot of Brazely only want to help. Others, like Harper and Rob, only want to help themselves. Whilst Chester and the new Mayor of Anglesey have their own agenda, one at odds with Nilda's quest; to find a safe haven for her son.
Set in Northern England and Scotland, this novel returns to the beginning of the outbreak and features some new characters (and a few familiar ones).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awesome addition to the series

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this book.I like that the author created new characters and showed the different choices they made at the beginning of the collapse.I disliked Nilda who has a abrasive personality,however I was able to connect with the other characters and care about their stories.It was nice to see how their lives intersect and influence the characters
in the previous books.The narrator did an excellent job.I purchased the e-book,but received an audiobook from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Read full review

- Karen Reese

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2016
  • Publisher: Frank Tayell