Twelve Kings in Sharakhai : Song of the Shattered Sands

  • by Bradley Beaulieu
  • Narrated by Sarah Coomes
  • Series: Song of the Shattered Sands
  • 25 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first book in the Song of Shattered Sands trilogy - an epic fantasy in the vein of A Thousand and One Nights.
In the city of Sharakhai, Çeda fights in the pits to scrape by a living. She, like so many in the city, pray for the downfall of the cruel, immortal Kings of Sharakhai. Then on the holy night when the powerful yet wretched creatures known as the Asirim wander the city and take tribute in order to protect the Kings, one of them tells Çeda the origin of their dark bargain. And this dangerous secret may be the very key she needs to throw off the iron grip the Kings have had over Sharakhai....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ennui reigns.

Bought the book because I like a fantasy - sci-fi and strong female protagonists, but I could not get behind Ceda or into her world. She's unbeatable in the arena, but inexplicably, got walked over elsewhere. I got through a few hours of of disinterested listening. I realized it had taken me weeks to read so little. A few more weeks passed without turning this book back on. I love Audible, and have quite a few books piled up to read, but this book killed my desire to listen to books. (I filled up my driving and gym time with podcasts - check out Serial.) I didn't dislike Ceda or the other characters, and the narration was forgettable but not objectionable. It was just boring. My bad. I should have switched to another book. Today, I started listening to Career of Evil, and returned this book to Audible. (The return option is great! I've been an Audible member for 12 years, bought over 900 books, and returned only a handful, but the option takes the risk out of buying a book.)
Read full review

- Will

Pretty boring book and slow delivery.

It was a pretty boring book, with slow delivery. It is not worth spending a credit on.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio