Torchwood: Department X : Torchwood

  • by James Goss
  • Narrated by Kai Owen
  • Series: Torchwood
  • 2 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Kai Owen reads this exclusive audio adventure.
G.R. Owen is the last of Cardiff’s old department stores. Times are hard and the ancient firm has gone into administration. But who are the Administrators? What goes on behind the shutters at night? And why are customers disappearing?
Torchwood are already investigating; G.R. Owen is the site of their oldest unsolved cases, and Jack is determined to solve it before the store closes forever - which is why Ianto is working undercover in gentlemen’s fashions and Gwen is in handbags.
Are the new managers really aliens? What connection do they have to the mysterious G.R. Owen himself? And is Jack the only one looking for the Department of Curiosities, last seen in 1905?
Written specially for audio by James Goss, ‘Department X’ is set before the ‘Children of Earth’ TV story and features Captain Jack Harkness, Gwen Cooper and Ianto Jones, as played by John Barrowman, Eve Myles and Gareth David-Lloyd in the hit series from BBC Television. It is read by Kai Owen, who plays Gwen’s husband Rhys.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting story

I really enjoy the narration of Kai Owen and the story is fun and kept me interested the whole way through.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Well done!

I love these little audio novellas, and the main members of the Torchwood team have read most of them. This is the 2nd I've listened to that is read by Kai Owen, who plays Rhys (Gwen's husband) on the show. Kai does a very good job with these, and he does different voices for the characters, even voicing Captain Jack Harkness without a British accent. I will be looking forward to more books, Torchwood-themed or not, read by Mr Owen.

The story itself is pretty good, an interesting take on the things that may be hanging around in the deep corners of a traditional old department store.
Read full review

- CatBookMom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-17-2011
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited