Regular price: $45.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $45.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To his own surprise, young Kellen, once the disappointing son of the great Mage who leads the City’s Mage Council, has become a powerful Knight-Mage. Valued for his bravery and his skills as both wizard and warrior, Kellen joins the Elves' war councils. Yet he cannot convince the City of his birth that it is in terrible danger.
Kellen’s sister Idalia, a Wild Mage with great healing ability, has pledged her heart to Jermayan, a proud Elven warrior. Someday Idalia will pay a tragic price for a world-saving work of Wild Magic, but until then, she will claim any joy life can offer her.
Jermayan, who has learned much fighting at Kellen's side and loving the human Idalia, finds that everything changes when he bonds with a dragon while rescuing the Elf Prince and becomes the first Elven Mage in a thousand years. Furious at her enemies' success with the dragon, the Demon Queen attacks in force. Light struggles against Dark, like flickering candle flames buried deep in the shadow of Obsidian Mountain.
©2004 Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory (P)2010 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mary Bjornskov on 06-29-10

Fun Listen!

I really like this trilogy. Was disappointed that the third and final book is not availabe yet. It is an older series so I'm not sure why?? Please add it to audible when you can!

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

By Matt on 02-11-11


I've Enjoyed this Trilogy greatly, but the real reason I'm leaving this Review is to point out that the 3rd Book is not title like the rest of them. It is already Available here at "When Darkness Falls" is the last book.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Ooshga on 08-20-10


This is a perfect sequel to the first book. Mercedes Lacky and James Mallory have pulled out the stops on this one, the character progression and the story build up kept me listning for hours on end.
This is a seriously good step up in quality from the first book as you can tell the authors are really getting in to the swing of the story, which is engaging right from the start as it starts off exactly where the first one ended, and leaves you once again on a cliffhanger at the end.
The narrator is clear and precise, i cannot fault Susan Ericksen she does a great job of bringing the story to life.

Highly reccomended to fans of the fantasy genre.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Paul on 01-29-15

The story does get going eventually

half of the first chapter is a copy of the last chapter of book 1; to me this is both insulting to the intelligence of the reader and pure laziness by the author. Although the story does get better, the constant repetition of themes is annoying.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc